Fransson Named to C-USA All-Freshman

Old Dominion men’s golfer Gustav Fransson has been named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team, the league office announced on Wednesday.

Fransson capped off a stellar freshman campaign with a fourth-place finish at the C-USA Championship en route to All-Tournament Team honors. 

The Sweden native led ODU in scoring average in 2017-18 with a stroke average of 73.8. Including the conference tournament, Fransson was the top-placing Monarch at each of the final two events, as he tied for 11th at the ECU Intercollegiate.

Fransson is the first-ver ODU men’s golfer to be named to the All-Freshman Team.

2017-18 Conference USA Men’s Golf Awards

Golfer Of The Year: Ian Snyman, North Texas

Freshman Of The Year: Tyler Johnson, Middle Tennessee

Coach Of The Year: Brennan Webb, Middle Tennessee

First Team

Ian Snyman, North Texas

Mitchell Meissner, Rice

R.J. Keur, UAB

Conor Purcell, Charlotte

Zander Lozano, UTSA

Second Team

Alex Weiss, Marshall

Tyler Johnson, Middle Tennessee 

Mario Carmona, Rice

Charles Corner, UTEP

Billy Tom Sargent, WKU

All-Freshman Team

Tyler Johnson, Middle Tennessee

Gustav Fransson, Old Dominion

Michael Rome, UTSA

Viktor Forslund, North Texas

Vitek Novak, North Texas